Genealogy

By12/01/2009

The reference staff is happy to help you locate and use the materials in our library. Due to limited resources, the librarians are unable to teach genealogical searching. The Coos Bay Public Library encourages genealogists to make full use of genealogy how-to books, organizations and societies in the local area. Basic genealogy workshops are sometimes offered by the Family History Center. The library has a number of books on learning to do genealogy, most are in 929.1 of the non-fiction collection.

The library has 3 microform (film or fiche) reader printers for patron use. There is also a photocopier available for patron usage. The first 6 photocopies from reference materials (anything that cannot be checked out) are free (per day), additional photocopies are $.20 per sheet.
Specific Holdings of the Coos Bay Public Library


NEWSPAPERS (in microfilm)

Coos Bay Newspapers:

-Coos Bay Harbor – 1/14/1905 – 12/28/1950
-Coos Bay News – Jan 2, 1900 – Oct 30, 1917
-Coos Bay Times – Jul 4, 1906 – Jan 7, 1957
-Empire Builder/Bay Reporter – Oct 8, 1953 – Sep 26, 1984
-Marshfield Sun – Feb 12, 1891 – Jun 16, 1944
-Marshfield SW Oregon Daily – Jan 23, 1915 – Apr 12, 1940
-Marshfield Weekly Coast Mail – May 17, 1879 – 1880; 1884 – Jun 1906
-The World (Coos Bay) – Jan 8, 1957 – current

Other Newspapers in Coos County:

-Bandon Recorder – 6/13/1901 – 6/27/1916
-Charleston Herald – 8/1995 – 3/1996 (irregular)
-Coquille City Bulletin – 6/7/1901 – 7/1/1904
-Coquille City Herald – 9/11/1883 – 10/10/1893
-Coquille Herald – 9/23/1902 – 9/ 4/1917
-Coquille Tribune – 4/7/1933 – 3/28/1947
-Coquille Valley Sentinel – 1/1917 – 11/8/1940
-Myrtle Point Enterprise – 11/16/1895-7/22/1915; 3/29/1928-5/28/1931
-Myrtle Point Herald – 3/29/1928-12/29/1949
-Southern Coos County American – 12/6/1917 – 7/17/1919 (on MP Enterprise roll)
-Powers Patriot – 4/26/1918 – 5/23/1923

For a complete list of the historical newspapers held by Coos County Libraries click here.

OREGON VITAL RECORDS

-Oregon Death Index – 1903+ MICROFORM
-Oregon Divorce Index – 1946+ MICROFORM
-Oregon Marriage Index – 1903+ (missing years 1925-1945), MICROFORM, Current years are on microfiche, (Note: these indexes are usually 1-2 years behind)

Cemeteries & Cemetery Records:

-Marshfield Pioneer Cemetery Database: Record of Known Burials. OREGON ARCHIVE 929.509795 Mar 2009
-Oregon Cemetery Survey – OREGON ARCHIVE 929.3795 ORE (lists cemeteries in Oregon with maps, directions and description).
-Some Cemetery Records of Coos and Curry Counties, Oregon, REF 929.3 GEN Som

Books with Obituary or Death Records:

-South Coast Obituaries of Coos County: Some also from Curry & Land Counties in the State of Oregon, REF 929.016 EIC
-Obituaries from the Marshfield Sun, Newspaper established 1891 and published to 1944 (Index of names with dates) REF 929.016 JON
-Index to Southcoast Obituaries 1953-1977, REF 929.016 WOO
-Coos County Oregon Deaths 1903 to 1930, OREGON ARCHIVE 929.379523 COO, (extracted from the Oregon Death Index)

Census:

-Oregon Federal Population Census, 1850-1930, MICROFILM

Genealogical Society Publications:

-Coos Genealogical Bulletin, Volumes 1-25, (1990), Oregon Archives 929.2 Coos
-Coos County Ancestor: Where and How to Find Them, READY REF 929.2 MOS

Land Claims:

-Coos County Land Deeds 1854-1888, MICROFILM
-Genealogical Material in Oregon Donation Land Claims, Volumes 1-5, OREGON ARCHIVE 929.3 Gen

Marriages:

-Episcopal Marriages of the Southern Oregon Coast 1884-1940 – OREGON ARCHIVE 929.37952 EAK

Naturalization Records:

-Coos County Naturalization information – 1876-1980, 7 reels MICROFILM

MISCELLANEOUS RESOURCES:

-Coos Bay/North Bend City Directories – 1904+ (some years missing, titles vary) OREGON ARCHIVES 910.25 COO
-Coos County Ancestors: Where and How to Find Them – READY REF 929.2 MOS
-Local phonebooks – 1954+ (occasional years are missing) OREGON ARCHIVES
-MAHISCAN, The Marshfield High School Yearbooks, 1914+ (occasional years missing) OREGON ARCHIVES

ONLINE RESOURCES:

-Heritage Quest -  www.heritagequestonline.com/ – please note that you must be a library card holder in Coos County to access via the Internet or you must use at one of the Coos County libraries.

-Genealogy Records – arcweb.sos.state.or.us/banners/genealogy.htm – Oregon State Archives
Provides an Oregon Historical County Records Guide, maps showing county border changes, access to the database, Oregon Historical Records Index and a Provisional and Territorial Records Guide. Useful information throughout.

Libraries, Museums, and Societies:

-Coquille Valley Genealogy Club – Carolyn Prola, Phone: 541-572-2236
Meets 1st Thursday each month, 7-9 p.m. at the Flora M. Laird Memorial Library, in Myrtle Point, Oregon, Phone: 541-572-2591.

-Coos County Historical Society Museum, 1220 Sherman Avenue, North Bend, OR 97459
Phone: 541-756-6320

-Family History Center – The Latter Day Saints provide this genealogy library to provide access to genealogy books and materials. You may also go through them to rent microfilm records.

3355 Virginia Avenue North Bend, OR 97420
Phone: 541-756-3575
Hours: M 12pm-4pm; T- Th 9am-9pm; F 9am-6pm; Sat 10am-4pm.
Closed: Closed the last two weeks of December.

Note: This is not a mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers cannot respond to mail inquiries.

Family Search – http://www.familysearch.org/

Coos Bay Public Library is powered by WordPress | based on the Panorama theme by Themocracy